Academic Calendar

ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2016-2017

FALL SEMESTER 2016

August 13 - Saturday - Residence Halls open for new students, 8:00 a.m.

August 14 - Sunday - Orientation for new students. Freshman Parting Ceremony.

August 15-16 - Monday-Tuesday - Freshman testing and registration.

August 17 - Wednesday - Faculty return. Faculty/Staff Institute 9:00 a.m.

August 18 - Thursday - Residence Halls open for returning students, 8:00 a.m.

August 18-19 - Thursday-Friday - On-campus registration for returning students. Thursday 8:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m. Friday 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

August 21 - Sunday - Freshman Confirmation Ceremony, W. V. Middleton Fine Arts Center – 4:00 p.m.

August 22 - Monday - Classes begin. Late Registration begins.

August 29 - Monday – Last day to register and/or add classes. Classes Purged for students not cleared.

September 5 - Monday - Labor Day Holiday, Classes suspended/ University closed.

September 6 - Tuesday - University open/Classes resume.

September 8 - Thursday - Matriculation Day, 11:00 a.m. – Classes suspended from 10:30 a.m. until 2:00 p.m.

September 15 - Thursday - Constitution Day Assembly.

September 19-23 - Monday – Friday - Week of “Early Warning” for students.

October 10-14 - Monday–Friday - Mid-Semester Examinations (Scheduled by the instructors).

October 14 - Friday - Senior Thesis Due for December Graduates.

October 17-18 - Monday-Tuesday - Fall Break, Classes suspended/University open.

October 17 - Monday - Last day for instructors to submit grade changes for Spring 2016 and Summer 2016.

October 20-21 - Thursday–Friday - Senior Exit Examinations.

October 21 - Friday - Last day for withdrawing from classes without penalty (WF or WP).

October 21 - Friday - Last day to file for Graduation for December 2016 and May 2017.

October 24 - Monday - Advisement and Registration for Spring 2017 and Summer begins.

November 8 - Tuesday - Election Day. Classes Suspended. University Closed.

November 9 - Wednesday - University open/Classes Resume.

November 13-20 - Sunday-Sunday - Homecoming Week.

November 18 - Friday - Presidential Scholarship Gala.

November 19 - Saturday - Homecoming

November 20 - Sunday - Founders’ Day Convocation.

November 22 - Tuesday - Residence Halls close at 6:00 p.m. for Thanksgiving Holidays.

November 23-25 - Wednesday–Friday - Thanksgiving Holidays, Classes suspended. University closed.

November 27 - Sunday - Residence Halls Reopen 1:00 p.m.

November 28 - Monday - University open/Classes resume.

December 2 - Friday - Last day of class.

December 5 - Monday - Reading Day

December 6-10 - Tuesday-Saturday - Final Examinations for Undergraduates, Graduate students and Continuing and Professional Studies students.

December 10 - Saturday - Residence Halls close for Christmas break at 6:00 p.m. (All Students).

December 21 - Wednesday - University closed for Christmas break at 5:00 p.m.

 

SPRING SEMESTER 2017

January 4 - Wednesday - University Offices and Library open.

January 4 - Wednesday - Faculty/Staff Institute, 8:30 – 9:30 a.m.

January 4 - Wednesday - 12:00 p.m. Residence Halls open for new students.

January 5 - Thursday - 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Testing for new students. School/Department Faculty Meetings. 2:00 – 5:00 p.m. Registration for new students.

January 5 - Thursday - Residence Halls open for returning students (8:00 a.m.).

January 5-6 - Thursday-Friday - Registration continues for all students (Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.; Friday, Revised March 28, 2016 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.).

January 9 - Monday - Classes begin. Late Registration begins.

January 16 - Monday - Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday. University closed.

January 17 - Tuesday - University open/Classes resume. Last day to register and/or add classes. Classes Purged for students not cleared.

January 19 - Thursday - Spring Convocation, Classes suspended from 10:30 a.m. until 2:00 p.m.

January 30-February 3 - Monday–Friday - Week of “Early Warning” for students.

February 5-11 - Sunday–Saturday - Religious Emphasis Week.

February 18 - Saturday - TRIO Day.

February 27-March 3 - Monday–Friday - Mid-Semester Examinations (Scheduled by the instructors).

March 3 - Friday - Residence Halls close for Spring Break at 6:00 P.M. University Open.

March 6 - Monday - Last day for instructors to submit grade changes for Fall 2016.

March 6-10 - Monday-Friday - Spring Break. Classes Suspended. University Open.

March 12 - Sunday - Residence Halls Reopen 12:00 p.m.

March 13 - Monday - Classes Resume all students. Senior Thesis Due for May Graduates. Last day to add courses for the 2nd CE/DC

March 16-17 - Thursday-Friday - Senior Exit Examinations.

March 22 - Wednesday - Last day for withdrawing from classes without Penalty (WF or WP).

March 22 - Wednesday - Advisement and registration for Summer 2017 and Fall 2017 continues.

March 27 - Monday - Alpha Kappa Mu Honor Society Induction.

March 27–March 30 - Monday–Thursday - University Honors Week.

March 28 - Tuesday - Honors and Awards Convocation. Classes suspended from 10:30 a.m. until 2:00 p.m.

April 3-6 - Monday-Thursday - Honors College Week.

April 3-9 - Monday-Sunday - CALA-Bash (Claflin’s Arts and Letters Annual Bash).

April 14 - Friday - Good Friday. Classes suspended. University Closed.

April 16 - Sunday - Easter Sunday.

April 17 - Monday - University open/Classes resume.

April 28 - Friday - Last Day of Classes.

May 1 - Monday - Reading Day.

May 2-6 - Tuesday-Saturday - Final Examinations for Undergraduates, Graduate students and Continuing and Professional Studies students.

May 6 - Saturday - Residence Halls close for students not participating in Commencement, 6:00 p.m.

May 8-12 - Monday–Friday - Senior Week Activities.

May 12 - Friday - Baccalaureate Services.

May 13 - Saturday - Commencement Convocation.

May 13 - Saturday - Residence Halls close, 4:00 p.m.

 

SUMMER 2017

Undergraduate Programs

Classes during the summer session meet daily from Monday through Thursday

May 22- June 27, 2017

Class Times

7:30-9:30 a.m.

9:45-11:45 a.m.

12:45-2:45 p.m.

3:00-5:00 p.m.

March 22-May 19 - Wednesday–Friday - Advisement and Registration.

May 21 - Sunday - Residence Halls open at 1:00 p.m.

May 22 - Monday - Classes begin at 7:30 a.m. Late Registration begins.

May 23 - Tuesday - Last day to add classes.

May 29 - Monday - Memorial Day. University Closed/Classes Suspended.

May 30 - Tuesday - University open/Classes resume.

June 6 - Tuesday - Last day to drop classes.

June 26-27 - Monday-Tuesday - Final Examinations.

June 27 - Tuesday - Residence Halls close at 6:00 p.m.

Second Summer Session

June 12–July 21

This session will accommodate Special Programs i.e. Summer Programs, Panther Academy, etc.

SUMMER 2017

Graduate Programs

Class Times

6:00-9:30 p.m. for 3 semester hour classes

5:30-10:00 p.m. for 4 semester hour classes

March 22–May 5 - Wednesday–Friday - Advisement and Registration.

May 8 - Monday - Classes begin. Last day for summer session registration.

May 9 - Tuesday - Last day to add classes.

May 29 - Monday - Memorial Day, University. Closed/Classes Suspended.

May 30 - Tuesday - University Open/Classes resume.

June 16 - Friday - Last day to drop classes.

July 4 - Tuesday - Independence day Holiday, University closed.

July 5 - Wednesday - University open/Classes resume.

July 24-July 29 - Monday–Saturday - Final Examinations