Search

Claflin News

Claflin University Plans Events Commemorating Black History Month

Jan 31, 2014

Claflin University is gearing up for Black History Month in February.

The Association for the Study of African American Life and History, which founded Black History Month, has selected the theme “Civil Rights in America” to mark the 50th anniversary of the 1964 Civil Rights Act.

Highlights of Claflin’s Black History Month commemoration include history events, plays, concerts, movie screenings and more. All events are free and open to the public and will be held on the campus of Claflin University, unless otherwise noted.

       Sunday, Feb. 2:

  • 3 p.m. – Alonzo Webster Wright Lyceum Series: Denyce Graves in concert, W.V. Middleton Fine Arts Center.

     

    Monday, Feb. 3:

  • 7 p.m. – “The Cost of Freedom,” Grace Thomas Kennedy Auditorium.

     

    Tuesday, Feb. 4:

  • 7 p.m. – “I Question America”: One-woman show about Fannie Lou Hamer, W.V. Middleton Fine Arts Center.

     

    Wednesday, Feb. 5:

  • 7 p.m. – My Black Is … (For Females Only), Ministers’ Hall.

     

    Thursday, Feb. 6:

  • 7 p.m. – Speaker: Joseph McGill Jr. and “The Slave Dwelling Project,” Grace Thomas Kennedy Auditorium.

     

    Friday, Feb. 7:

  • 7-9 p.m. – Black History Month BINGO, Game Room.

     

    Saturday, Feb. 8:

  • Black History Month Movie Marathon.

     

    Monday, Feb. 10:

  • 7-9 p.m. – Black History Month BINGO, Game Room.

     

    Tuesday, Feb. 11:

  • 7 p.m. – African-American Cinema Gallery, W.V. Middleton Fine Arts Center.

     

    Wednesday, Feb. 12:

  • 7 p.m. – College L.I.F.E. Tour, W.V. Middleton Fine Arts Center.

     

    Thursday, Feb. 13:

  • 7 p.m. – “The Evolution of Black Music” documentary by Dennis Richmond, Orange and Maroon Room.

     

    Friday, Feb. 14:

  • 7-9 p.m. – Black History Month Meltdown sponsored by Claflin Men 100 and Student Activities, Ministers’ Hall.

     

    Saturday, Feb. 15:

  • 4-7 p.m. – Movie Matinee: “The Butler,” Multi-Purpose Room.
  • 7-9 p.m. – Black History Month BINGO, Game Room.

     

    Monday, Feb. 17:

  • 7-9:30 p.m. – Movie Night: “12 Years a Slave,” W.V. Middleton Fine Arts Center.

     

    Tuesday, Feb. 18:

  • 7-8 p.m. – Dorm Black History Month Quiz Bowl, Multi-Purpose Room.

     

    Friday, Feb. 21:

  • 7-9 p.m. – Black History Month BINGO, Game Room.

     

    Saturday, Feb. 22:

  • Road Trip to John’s Island, Sullivan’s Island and Charleston

     

    Sunday, Feb. 23:

  • 7 p.m. – Black History Month Gospel Concert featuring Claflin’s DREAM, W.V. Middleton Fine Arts Center.

     

    Monday, Feb. 24:

  • 7-9 p.m. – Black History Month BINGO, Game Room.

    Tuesday, Feb. 25:

  • 7 p.m. – The African-American Dance Ensemble, W.V. Middleton Fine Arts Center.

     

    Thursday, Feb. 27:

  • 7-8 p.m. – Greek Black History Month Quiz Bowl, W.V. Middleton Fine Arts Center.

     

    Friday, Feb. 28:

  • 7-8 p.m. – Greek Black History Month Quiz Bowl, W.V. Middleton Fine Arts Center.

For more information about Claflin’s Black History Month events, call 803-535-5751. For more information about Black History Month, visit asalh.org.

Claflin Photos