COVID-19 Update - March 20, 2020
Claflin University has suspended all on-ground classes effective immediately and beginning March 23, through the remainder of the Spring 2020 semester, all classes will be held online or through other virtual instruction platforms. COVID-19 Resource Page ยป
Close Alert

COVID-19 Update #3 - Friday, March 13, 2020

Mar 13, 2020

Claflin University continues to monitor statewide, national and international developments concerning the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). With the safety of our campus community in mind, Spring Break (for students only) has been extended through Sunday, March 22. The residence halls will reopen on Sunday, March 22, at 2:00 p.m.

Residence Halls Procedures
Students who are on campus during the Extended Spring Break are required to meet with their residential life coordinator or residential life manager for Extended Spring Break protocols. This is mandatory as we continue to provide a safe living and learning environment in the residence halls. Residential life coordinators and managers are listed below:

Building

Managers and Coordinators

Email/Phone number

Kleist/Corson

Ms. Brenda Thomas
Ms. Jacqueline Butler

bthomas@claflin.edu
jacbutler@claflin.edu
(803) 535-5453/5595

Dunton

Ms. Belinda Green Brown
Ms. Bessie Wright

bgreen-brown@claflin.edu
bewright@claflin.edu
(803)535-5004/5004

North

Mrs. Tynisha Abraham- Guess

tyabraham@claflin.edu
(803) 535-5613

Asbury

Ms. Shamika Ryles
Ms. Lynn Frasier

Shamika.ryles@claflin.edu
lfrasier@claflin.edu
(803) 535-5300/5317

High Rise

Mr. Titus Perry

tperry@claflin.edu
(803) 535-5315

South/ East

Mrs. Emma Hall
Ms. Crystal Jamison

ehall@claflin.edu
crystal.jamison@claflin.edu
(803) 535-5614

West

Mr. Quinteaz Montford
Ms. Essie Campbell

qmontford@clalfin.edu
ecampbell@claflin.edu
(803) 535-5612

Campus Corner

Ms. Destiny Harley

deharley@claflin.edu

Commons

Mrs. Vera Harley

vharley@claflin.edu
(803) 535-5680/5671

 

On-campus Dining Options for March 15-22

The Dining Hall will operate during the following days and hours:

  • Sunday, March 15: Dinner (4-6 p.m.)
  • Monday, March 16-Friday, March 20: Breakfast (7:30-9 a.m.); Lunch (11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.); and Dinner (5-7 p.m.)
  • Saturday, March 21-Sunday March 22: Brunch (10 a.m.-1 p.m.) and Dinner (5-7 p.m.)
  • Sunday, March 22: Late Night (10 p.m.-Midnight)

Jazzman’s Café will operate Monday-Friday from 7 a.m.-3 p.m. and Pizza Hut will operate from 11 a.m.-10 p.m.

University-sponsored Events 
Claflin University has postponed all listed University-sponsored events on the calendar until May. This includes:

  • Women’s History Month Luncheon (March 26)
  • Men of Color Symposium (March 27)
  • CALA-Bash (March 30-April 5)
  • Evening of Elegance (April 24)

The 2020 Claflin University International Alumni Association Convention in Charlotte (April 16-19) has been cancelled. More information will be shared from the Claflin University International Alumni Association.

Travel Precautions
For the safety of yourself and others, we strongly recommend avoiding travel to high-risk areas as outlined by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. If you choose to travel to those areas, please understand that you will be subjected to additional screenings and/or government-imposed quarantine requirements prior to your return to Claflin University.

If you have traveled to any of the high-risk areas, please consult your healthcare provider immediately. MUSC Health (https://campaigns.muschealth.org/virtual-care/index.html) and Prisma Health (https://www.prismahealth.org/virtual-visit/) are also offering virtual screenings.

As information develops, Claflin University’s Emergency Preparedness Team will keep the University informed. Updates as necessary will be sent by email, posted on social media, and sent through the emergency text messaging service (https://claflin.regroup.com/signup). 

You may also visit the University’s COVID-19 Resource Page (www.claflin.edu/covid19) for up-to-date information.

Sincerely,
Dr. Dwaun J. Warmack
President

 

Section Navigation
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Support the next generation of Claflin Leaders
Your support provides educational enrichment through student scholarships, loan funds, instructional classroom equipment, preparing Claflin's students to be leaders of the future.